C.D. Leganés beats C.D. Tenerife for fifth consecutive win (1-0)


21/02/2021 16:00

C.D. Leganés beat C.D. Tenerife (1-0) at Butarque and achieved their fifth consecutive victory. A goal by Javi Hernández in the second half, in a set piece, gave the three points to the pepineros, in a solvent match in which they were able to defend the acquired income.

Tight first half and no great chances

Asier Garitano made five changes from the team that beat U.D. Almería last Wednesday: Palencia, Sergio González, Javi Hernández, Róber Ibáñez, Kevin Bua and Miguel de la Fuente came on in place of Rosales, Bustinza, Ignasi Miquel, Jonathan Silva, Sabin Merino and Borja Bastón.
Róber Ibáñez had the first shot on goal in minute 2, blocked in two stages by Dani Hernández. However, the visitors settled well on the field, making it difficult for the Pepineros to circulate and preventing them from reaching danger. Javi Alonso, for Tenerife, and Omeruo, for Leganés, made the only shots in an even and close first half. With the initial 0-0 score at halftime.

Javi Hernández gave C.D. Leganés the lead from a set piece.

After the restart, Asier Garitano brought on Avilés in place of Kevin Bua, moving Róber Ibáñez to the left wing. In 52', C.D. Leganés took the lead: a corner kick from the left by Rubén Pardo and Javi Hernández put his leg in for a shot that was impossible for Dani Hernández to score: it was 1-0 and his first goal in the Blue and Whites' shirt.
C.D. Leganés looked for the second, with a chance for Róber Ibáñez in 57' that didn't find the target. Apeh, who had just come on, created a dangerous counterattack for the visitors, which was cut out by Sergio González, who was providential. Avilés, in minute 65, was on the verge of scoring the second from a corner kick: his shot hit a rival and went just wide of the post.
Good defending to secure a fifth consecutive win

With twenty minutes to go, Jonathan Silva and Sabin Merino came on for Eraso and Miguel de la Fuente. Sabin himself had a good chance on 77' before Rubén Pérez came on for Róber Ibáñez. Los Pepineros defended well in the final stretch, without conceding chances to an opponent that only had a goal disallowed for offside in the 92nd minute, which was ratified by the VAR.
In this way, C.D. Leganés has won its fifth consecutive victory and now has 49 points. Their next match will be next Friday (21:00) against F.C. Cartagena.

LEG / J26 LaLiga SmartBank

1-0 Go Live
  • Cuéllar
  • Sergio
  • Javi Hernández
  • K. Omeruo
  • Palencia
  • Eraso (71')
  • Kevin Bua (45')
  • Robert Ibáñez (79')
  • R. Pardo (89')
  • Gaku
  • Miguel De la Fuente (71')


  • Sabin Merino (72')
  • Brandon
  • Borja (90')
  • Rubén Pérez J. (80')
  • Juan Muñoz
  • Riesgo
  • Bustinza M.
  • Javier Avilés (45')
  • J. Silva (72')
  • Miquel
  • R. Tarín
  • Jose Arnáiz
  • Dani H.
  • Nikola Sipcic
  • Shaq Moore
  • Pomares (74')
  • Carlos Ruiz
  • Javier Alonso
  • Álex Bermejo (59')
  • R. Folch (59')
  • Nono (74')
  • Valentin Vada (79')
  • Fran Sol


  • Joselu
  • Samuel Shashoua (80')
  • Jorge Padilla
  • Alberto
  • Kakabadze
  • Suso N.T.
  • German Valera (75')
  • Serantes
  • Manu Apeh (60')
  • Víctor Méndez
  • Álex Muñoz (75')
  • Sergio González (60')


Estadio Municipal Butarque


  • 1-0 (53'). Javi Hernández


Rubén Ávalos Barrera awarded R. Folch (47'), Valentin Vada (49'), Carlos Ruiz (65') from CD Tenerife.