Skip to main content

Maximum equality in the precedents against C.D. Tenerife at Butarque

C.D. Leganés will welcome C.D. Tenerife this Sunday (2:00 p.m.) in what will be the tenth official clash between the two teams at Butarque. So far, the nine precedents are marked by equality, with three wins for each team and three draws.

Leganés and Tenerife have met on Madrid soil on six occasions in Second Division matches, two in Second Division 'B' and one in the Copa del Rey. Tenerife won in their first two visits to Butarque, by 0-4 in the 1999/00 season and by 0-1 in 2000/01, achieving, with this victory, promotion to the First Division.

The Tenerife side won at Butarque in the last league meeting between the two sides.

The next two clashes, again in the silver category, ended in a draw: 1-1 in 2002/03, with a Blue and Whites' goal scored by Miguel Ángel, and 0-0 in 2003/04. The two teams would meet for two seasons in Segunda 'B': in 2011/12 with a 2-0 win for Pepinera, with goals by Tonino and Víctor, and in 2012/13, with a draw (1-1) and a goal by Carlos Martínez for Leganés.
Back in Segunda, Leganés won in the 2014/15 season match (2-0, with goals by Álvaro García and Borja Lázaro), while Tenerife won at Butarque in 2015/16 by 0-1. In between, the Pepineros won the Cup tie of the same season with a 2-0 victory thanks to goals from Omar Ramos and Szymanowski.